A happy birthday indeed

So today was my birthday, my 31st during this lifetime.  I want to say thanks to all of you that posted on my fb page today, Thank you.  It’s nice to get messages and the such on a day as this.

I was lucky enough to have a lovely, sunny day today.  The sky was clear and the wind wasn’t a pain.  Perfect weather for a motorcycle ride.  I just had to ride today and was a good thing I had already made plans to do such a thing.  My friend had just gotten a new bike earlier in the week and wanted to ride.  We meet up and took a spin into the canyons around LA.  The traffic was none existent on the canyon road and the pavement was nice and smooth.  At first, he took the lead.  He rode his crotch rocket and me on the cruiser, he could take the turns much faster and easier than I could.  But I still pushed the bike around the 20mph turns at like 50, scrapping the pegs the whole way.  He pulled over up the road a ways and I soon caught up to him.  He slid back onto the road behind me and followed me the rest of the way to the top of the hill.  Most of the turns are tight and I love to push the bike as hard as it is willing to go.  The feeling I get when I take the turn a little too fast but pull out of it perfectly, is like no other feeling. There really is no way to describe that feeling, that rush.  As we passed the last turn, a freaking tumble weed was in the middle of the road rolling towards me.  I couldn’t avoid it and ran right though it.  Damn thing got caught on the bike and we had to pull over.  Good thing was, it was only a tumble weed.   Damn weeds….

We stopped at a buddies house and chilled for bit once we got to the other side of the hill.  After the pit stop, we blazed on back to my friend’s house to have a beer.  The freeway was busy, but being on bikes, we split the traffic with ease.

I came home to a hot meal and smiling faces of my wife and kid.  They handed me hand-made cards for this day.  They even had cupcakes in the oven cooking too.  We watched cartoons to dinner and laughed at the funny stories.

Right now, I am enjoying my smoke and smiling.  Thinking back to all that I have been though, to have such simple pleasures makes it all the better.  I am lucky to share this day with another friend of mine and I enjoyed seeing all the people posting to her.  It is rare to meet with someone who shares the same birthday as you and even rarer to have them as a friend.  I wish to her many more days and hope the best to her.

Even though I didn’t get any presents (yet) or any cards in the mail, I can still look back on today and think of the good times I got to enjoy.  Hell, if the worst thing that happened today was running into a tumble weed, then I think I shouldn’t complain about anything else.

About wyvernict

Writer, artist, photographer and dreamer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment